Growing from Conflict by Listening


Nothing shows through in a disagreement quite like an attitude of openness and respect for people (or lack thereof). I appreciate those who show me this kindness and strive to do the same; I regret every time I’ve gone in “guns blazing.”

I try to approach tough conversations at work with the expectation that on my drive home I’ll realize that I learned something really valuable from the person’s perspective. I almost always do learn something and maintaining this attitude helps keep me open.

The reality is that I don’t know all the answers, I am not a one man show.
I need other people.

It has served me well to reject the notion, popularized by my generation, that I am inherently awesome, self-sufficient and always right. I’m grateful for parents who taught me to fight for what I believe, but to always focus on the good in others and to listen intently to what others have to say.

learning humility

Leave a Reply

